We would like to thank (again) the curators who wish to remain anonymous

artforum.com

Nina Beier & Marie Lund, Alex Cecchetti, Cosey Fanni Tutti, Jochen Dehn,
Haris Epaminonda, Peggy Franck,Vlatka Horvat, Bethan Huws, Jiri Kovanda,
Charlotte Moth, Aurélien Mole,Yamini Nayar, Sarah Tritz

20 June - 25 July 2009
exhibition vues
Installation by Sarah Tritz
(photographs by Aurélien Mole)

For the tenth anniversary of the gallery anne barrault has invited a curator who, in turn, has invited eleven others. This collective exhibition will be like a game between these twelve curators who have wished to remain anonymous.

 Rather than construct a group exhibition the content of which would be the structuring of a single concept and the linear juxtaposition of artworks, this project provides a collective and dynamic process. The set up game proposes various ways of display (group and solo exhibition, white cube and installation), and reflection on the structures of production (exchange, storage, hanging, curatorial practise etc). This project calls upon the viewer, the gallery, the atists and the invited curators.
 Twelve international curators have been invited to take part in the exhibition. They come from different backgrounds : some are independent, others work for prestigious, private or public Collections, famous Foundations and Museums. They have built a collective conversation about the exhibition : they have entered a “domino” game. The first curator and instigator of it has selected a work and sent it to a second curator who, in return, has answered with another artwork. The third curator has reacted to the two artworks, adding one of his choice, and so on until twelwe artworks have been chosen by the twelve curators. Thus each of them has answered, completed and orientated the group exhibition which looks like a sentence for which each participant has added a word. They have all agreed to remain anonymous, and none of them (but for the instigator) knows who has been solicited.
 Sarah Tritz has been commissioned to create an environment, a global installation for this group show built up in this way. She provides the storage. Every 48 hours, one of the artworks will be taken from the group and put in a different, empty space, a “White Cube”. Each work will be displayed only once in the White Cube, on its own. This will go on until each work has been shown once in isolation. When each of them has been singled out, the show will be over. The passage inside the “white cube” follows the order of the selection by the curators :  the last piece exhibited is also the last one which has been chosen.
 When presented alone, the content of the artwork remains extraneous to the exhibition as a whole. When it is with the others, its content is merged into the group. The system is both elegant and awkward. It resists initial reading of a “theme”, focusing instead on the underlying structure of each personal work and of the collective project. It echoes  Sarah Tritz commissioned to create an installation for the group show.
One of the curators declares : “ I like the idea of the tension and exchange between the single foregrounded work and the overfilled, storage-like picture of the rear-space. Also the dialogue and the alternation of the works isolated and staged exclusively, like a flow of ideas in a very long sentence, must be really interesting to follow and analyse the decisions behind the choice of them. That’s why I decided to participate.”
We would like (once more) to thank the curators who have wished to remain anonymous.

_________________________________________________

the comments are those of the curators who have chosen the works

 
1– Bethan Huws
Untitled (Quoi de Neuf?), 2008
Word vitrine
Courtesy of the artist and Yvon Lambert Paris/New York

“This work belongs to a series of Word Vitrines initiated by Bethan Huws in 1999. It reconsiders the legacy of Conceptual art and the bureaucratic structures of the passing on of information. “Quoi de Neuf”, that is to say “What’s up”,  is a pun, in French, on Neuf, meaning either new or nine. The work opens the exhibition process and determines its rules. It is telling a lot as well as nothing. It is both a question, an answer, a beginning and an end. »


2 - Vlatka Horvat  
Out on a Limb, 2003
Video (moniteur et socle)
Courtesy of the artist

« A short sequence constantly replayed, one single leg, cut off by the top of the frame. The leg is wobbling on a tree stump, struggling all the time to keep its balance. It is a body stuck in an in-between state, on the verge of something, but essentially denied both resolution and relief. It is a creepy piece which is a humorous answer to the question “What’s up? »


3 .A - Jochen Dehn
Flocks, 2008
Performance le samedi 27 juin à 18h
Courtesy of the artist

« According to me, what is actually the works of two artists  is the best answer to the previous two works (and to the concept of the exhibition). The first one is ephemeral and will not stay in the gallery, the second one will be installed near the scene of the performance and will be the only real sign of the first work. Flocks by Jochen Dehn is a lecture/performance which shows why it is necessary to become liquid, how to melt into the crowd, what behaviour must be yours to become invisible when amidst a crowd. »




3.B – Alex Cecchetti
The Diver, 2007
Collage, 19,5 x 14,8 cm
Courtesy of the artist

« Jochen Dehn’s performance was my instant answer : something liquid which disappears. But I also wished to leave something tangible , as the concept of the exhibition demanded. I wish to present Alex Ceccheti’s The Diver. This collage belongs to a series of collages and objects which must be installed in front of a video or some other artwork, as if they were permanent viewers. Jochen Dehn’s performance will stay in the eye of this special viewer. »




4 – Jiri Kovanda
Pure & Clean, 2007
Performance (documentation)
Courtesy of the artist and GB Agency, Paris

« This is an invisible performance, during the opening of the exhibition, when the artist hands out sweets without the viewers’ knowing, slipping them into bags and pockets. I like this work : it is simple and strictly invisible. Clandestine. There is no audience, the work must be told. I also like the story of its title: the artist chose it because he was asked a title for the programme of a biennial event, but he did not know what he was going to perform. He simply said : I do not know what I am going to perform, but I know it will be called Pure § Clean. »

 


5-A PEGGY FRANCK, »07«, 2007
C-Print
44 x 55 cm
 Courtesy Marion Scharmann, Cologne and KLERKX, Milan

5-B PEGGY FRANCK, »08«, 2007
C-Print
44 x 55 cm
 Courtesy Marion Scharmann, Cologne and KLERKX, Milan

« Two photographs by Peggy Franck : each of them is the photograph of a staged situation (not of a performance) as well as of a stage in which the onlooker must be immersed (or very near) to really grasp the photograph » 



6— Yamini Nayar
Under the Night Sky, 2009
C-print
90 x 120 cm
Courtesy of the artist and Thomas Erben Gallery, New York

« This minute diorama evokes a vague moment : something is going to happen (a scene for a performance) or has just happened (after effect). My choice has developed in a much more intuitive way than for the five curators before me. »


7 - FIESTA, Volume 10, Number 6, 1976
30 x 22 cm
Courtesy of the artist

« the tension in this pornographic magazine is obvious. It is a porn mag. A jazz mag. A filthy rag . It is also the scene of an intervention by Cosey Fanni Tutti ( one of her actions is to be found in the last pages of the magazine, to be precise). And at the same time, I am not sure whether it is actually one. Cosey appears in the magazine, but she has never validated or reckoned this magazine as belonging to her work. I did not buy it from the artist or from her gallery, it is not signed or framed to her usual specifications. I bought it from a vintage pornography dealer. He  sold it to me for less than what a copy of Art Forum costs. He had no idea that it was a work of art - like everyone else who bought it at the time, and looked at the photograph of Cosey naked. I choose this magazine (or this artwork by Cosey Fanni Tatti) because it rather nicely echoes some of the dialectical oppositions (in/visibility, un/certainty, disappearance/appearance, and so on) which underlie this exhibition as a whole, and the works chosen by the other curators. Cosey, like her work, like the other curaors, is there, and is not there »



8 - Haris Epaminonda
Untitled #32, 2008/09
Polaroid
10.3 x 10.2 cm
Courtesy of the artist and Rodeo gallery, Istanbul


« Taken from a magazine, the piece in this polaroid suggests a rather concise, ambiguous scene (emotional, histrionic) . The story is less revealed than concealed, thereby generating a feeling of uncertainty. Thus, the visible content of the photograph hangs in irresolution,  whereas the real content (the temporal blurring of present and past) is hard to place, and shrouds the work in a kind of symbolical invisibility. »


9 – XXXXXXXX

« I have chosen quite a small work, a work catching possible passers-by’s attention to a precise idea which both evokes a picture and the possibility of a city as a whole. »

NB : Neither the artist nor his agent have wished to participate in the exhibition.

 

 
10 - Charlotte Moth
Travelogue, 1999-2009
20 black and white images
Courtesy of the artist

« Charlotte Moth’s posters refer to her collection of images, Travelogue. It is a subtle reaction to the exhibition space as it is. Through the display of images of deserted or dilapidated buildings, the images function as a mise en abyme  that questions our relationship to the white cube. »

 



11- Nina Beier and Marie Lund
New Novels, New Men, 2009
Books and performances
Courtesy of the artists and Croy Nielsen, Berlin

The same novel, in various translations, is read in the exhibition space by men speaking the language of the translation.

« This work does fit the idea of absence/presence which is at the heart of the exhibition, as well in its structure as in the curators’ various answers. In my opinion, it is able to play on the open but also quite closed concept of the exhibition. It also plays on language and its various specifications. Exactly as any understanding or interpretation of rules (of the game between the curators, in the exhibition, of translation and language, in Nina’s and Marie’s work) is both scientific and subjective »



12 - Aurélien Mole
Phorésie, 2009
Sculpture and plinth
Courtesy of the artist


« A work which infects one, which is a fetish, which protects one, anonymous but signed, handled ; it is an objectivized belief, it is collective, virtual : Phoresis is a disease, a bacterium which spreads wonderfully well. The statuette is original : it is a nkissi fetish of the Mali Bakongo ethnic group. The sorcerer (Nganga) uses it to protect those who come and see him, and rid them of a curse; it also protects the sorcerer in return. For each person who comes and begs for protection, the nganga licks a nail or a point and sticks it into the fetish. This blade symbolizes the contract signed with the protective spirit represented by the statuette. Each blade symbolizes one person and a curse. Here the blades are let out and spread. The work is also a manipulation, like this exhibition. »

 
Sarah Tritz
_] 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11
Installation, 2009

Sarah Tritz’s installation has been created especially for this exhibition : it is the storage space, or the space for the group show. Tritz has worked on the vanishing points, the various levels of interpretation, the movements in the space of the gallery (visitors’) and between the works (the other artists’), included in her installation. The possibility to multiply levels, surfaces , stand-points is the basis of the installation : as much the potential confrontation of different points of view as their differences or the conflicts between the works and her installation. Her work can be read at several levels. It refers to scenery (Oskar Schlemmer’s stage setting, or David Hockney’s opera setting : where the visitor stands, his moving, all this is decisive for the installation, the visitor, an actor and a spectator at the same time), architecture, installations. This work is part of the line of sculptural practice, like a link between Kurt Schwitters, Manfred Pernice or Rachel Harrisson.

We would like to thank (again) the curators who wish to remain anonymous

artforum.com

Nina Beier & Marie Lund, Alex Cecchetti, Cosey Fanni Tutti, Jochen Dehn,
Haris Epaminonda, Peggy Franck,Vlatka Horvat, Bethan Huws, Jiri Kovanda,
Charlotte Moth, Aurélien Mole,Yamini Nayar, Sarah Tritz

20 juin - 25 juillet 2009
vues de l'exposition
installation de Sarah Tritz

(photographies Aurélien Mole)


A l’occasion de son dixième anniversaire, la galerie Anne Barrault invite un commissaire qui à son
tour en invite 11. Cette exposition collective agira comme un jeu entre ces 12 curateurs qui
souhaitent garder l’anonymat.

 Plutôt que de concevoir une exposition de groupe dont le contenu tiendrait dans l’articulation d’un concept unique et la juxtaposition linéaire d’oeuvres, ce projet s’engage dans un processus collectif et dynamique. Le jeu mis en place convoque différents formats d’exposition (exposition de groupe et solo, white cube et installation) et questionne les structures de production  (échange, stockage, accrochage, commissariat, etc) . Ce projet  met à contribution  le spectateur, la galerie, les artistes et les commissaires invités.
 
12 commissaires internationaux ont été conviés à participer à l’exposition. Ces commissaires ont des profils différents : certains sont indépendants, d’autres travaillent pour des collections privées ou publiques renommées, dans des fondations et des musées prestigieux. Tous se sont engagés dans une conversation collective autour de l’exposition : ils ont entrepris un jeu de “dominos”.  Le premier commissaire et instigateur de l’exposition a sélectionné une œuvre qu’il a envoyée à un deuxième curateur, qui, à son tour, a répondu par une autre œuvre. Le troisième curateur a réagi aux deux propositions précédentes, en en ajoutant une de son choix, et ainsi de suite jusqu’à ce que 12 oeuvres aient été retenues par les 12 curateurs. Chacun d'eux  a ainsi répondu, complété et orienté l’exposition de groupe. Celle-là  ressemble alors à une phrase pour laquelle chaque participant a ajouté un mot. Tous ont accepté de garder l’anonymat et aucun d’entre eux (à l’exception de l’instigateur) ne connaît les autres commissaires sollicités.
 
Sarah Tritz a été invitée à concevoir un environnement, une proposition globale qui accueille l’exposition de groupe ainsi constituée. Elle produit le stockage. Toutes les 48 heures, une des oeuvres est extraite du groupe et placée dans un espace différent, laissé vierge, un "White Cube". Toutes les œuvres ne sont montrées qu’une fois dans le White Cube, séparément. Le processus court jusqu’à ce que chacune ait été exposée seule, une fois,. Quand elles ont toutes ainsi été distinguées, la manifestation se termine. Le passage  dans le "white cube" suit le processus de sélection des commissaires : la dernière pièce présentée est aussi la dernière à avoir été sélectionnée.  

Quand une oeuvre est  exposée isolément, son contenu reste étranger à l’ensemble de l’exposition. Quand elle est  avec les autres, son contenu se fond dans le groupe. Le système est à la fois élégant et difficile. Il ne cède pas à la lecture immédiate d’un “thème”. Il se focalise au contraire sur la structure sous-jacente de chaque œuvre individuelle et du projet collectif. Il répond à la commande passée à Sarah Tritz de créer une installation pour l’exposition de groupe.

Un des curateurs participants déclare : “ J’aime l’idée de tension et d’échange entre l’oeuvre isolée au premier plan et l’image de l’arrière-plan, débordante d’oeuvres apparemment stockées. De même, l’alternance et le dialogue des oeuvres isolées et exclusivement mises en scène comme un courant d’idées dans une phrase très longue est vraiment intéressante pour suivre et analyser les décisions qui ont déterminé les choix. C’est la raison pour laquelle j’ai décidé de participer !”
 
Nous souhaitons vivement remercier (une fois de plus) les commissaires qui ont choisi de rester anonymes : XX, XX, XX, XX, XX, XX, XX, XX, XX, XX, XX and XX.

Sarah Tritz a réalisé son installation « _] 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 » grâce à l’aide au projet de la ville de Paris, et au soutien de l’entrepriseculturelle (www.entrepriseculturelle.org)


_________________________________________________

 
1– Bethan Huws
Untitled (Quoi de Neuf?), 2008
Word vitrine
Courtesy of the artist and Yvon Lambert Paris/New York

« L’œuvre appartient à une série de Word Vitrines que Bethan Huws a débutée en 1999. Elle se joue de l’héritage conceptuel et des structures bureaucratiques de transmission d’information. « Quoi de Neuf ? », qui inaugure le processus de l’exposition et en fixe les règles, est une œuvre à la fois transparente et mutique. Elle est – simultanément – une question, une réponse, un début et une fin. »


2 - Vlatka Horvat  
Out on a Limb, 2003
Video (moniteur et socle)
Courtesy of the artist

« Une séquence courte, en boucle, une seule jambe, coupée en haut du cadre. La jambe est en équilibre instable sur un tronc, elle chancelle dans un effort permanent pour rester en position. C’est un corps pris dans un entre-deux, un corps « au bord », qui refuse la stabilité ou le repos. C’est une œuvre angoissante qui répond avec humour à la question « Quoi de neuf ? »


3 .A - Jochen Dehn
Flocks, 2008
Performance le samedi 27 juin à 18h
Courtesy of the artist

« Ce qui selon moi réagit le mieux aux deux œuvres précédentes (et au concept de l’exposition) est en fait constitué de deux œuvres (par deux artistes différents). La première est éphémère et ne restera pas dans la galerie, la seconde sera installée près du lieu de la performance et sera la seule trace tangible de la première œuvre. Flocks par Jochen Dehn est une conférence-performance qui démontre pourquoi il est nécessaire de devenir liquide, comment se dissoudre dans une foule, et quel protocole adopter quand on se trouve dans une foule pour devenir invisible. »




3.B – Alex Cecchetti
The Diver, 2007
Collage, 19,5 x 14,8 cm
Courtesy of the artist

« La performance de Jochen Dehn a été ma réponse immédiate : quelque chose de liquide qui disparaît. Mais j’ai désiré aussi laisser quelque chose de tangible dans l’espace. Le concept de l’exposition le demandait. Je désire inclure aussi The Diver d’Alex Ceccheti. Ce collage fait partie d’une série de collages et d’objets qui doivent être installés en face d’une vidéo ou d’une autre œuvre d’art comme des spectateurs permanents. La performance de Jochen Dehn restera dans le regard de ce spectateur spécial. »




4 – Jiri Kovanda
Pure & Clean, 2007
Performance (documentation)
Courtesy of the artist and GB Agency, Paris

 « C’est une performance invisible, pour laquelle l’artiste distribue pendant le vernissage de l’exposition des sucreries, sans que les spectateurs ne soient au courant, en les glissant dans les sacs et les poches. J’aime cette œuvre : elle est simple et radicalement invisible. Clandestine. Elle n’a pas d’audience, c’est une œuvre qui doit être racontée. J’aime aussi beaucoup l’histoire de son titre : l’artiste l’a choisi parce qu’on lui demandait un titre pour un programme pendant une biennale mais il ne savait pas ce qu’il allait faire. Il a dit, simplement : je ne sais pas ce que je vais réaliser, mais je sais que ça s’appellera Pure & Clean. »

 


5-A PEGGY FRANCK, »07«, 2007
C-Print
44 x 55 cm
 Courtesy Marion Scharmann, Cologne and KLERKX, Milan

5-B PEGGY FRANCK, »08«, 2007
C-Print
44 x 55 cm
 Courtesy Marion Scharmann, Cologne and KLERKX, Milan

« Deux photographies de Peggy Franck : chacune est une photographie d’une mise en scène (et non d’une performance) mais aussi d’un scène dans laquelle le spectateur doit être immergé (ou proche) pour réellement appréhender la photographie. » 



6— Yamini Nayar
Under the Night Sky, 2009
C-print
90 x 120 cm
Courtesy of the artist and Thomas Erben Gallery, New York

« Ce diorama miniature évoque un moment indéterminé : quelque chose va arriver (une scène pour une performance) ou vient juste d’arriver (after effect). Mon choix dans la série s’est développé de manière beaucoup plus intuitive que les cinq décisions curatoriales précédentes. »


7 - FIESTA, Volume 10, Number 6, 1976
30 x 22 cm
Courtesy of the artist

 « La tension dans ce magazine porno est évidente. C’est un porno. Un magazine de jazz. Un torchon dégueulasse. C’est aussi le lieu d’une intervention par Cosey Fanni Tutti (on y trouve une de ses actions dans les dernières pages du magazine, pour être exact). Mais en même temps, je ne sais pas si c’en est vraiment une. Cosey apparaît dans le magazine, mais elle n’a jamais validé ou inclus ce magazine dans ces œuvres. Je ne l’ai pas acquis de l’artiste ou de sa galerie, il n’est pas signé ni encadré selon les spécifications de l’artiste. Je l’ai acheté dans une boutique spécialisée en porno vintage. Le marchand me l’a vendu moins cher qu’un Art Forum. Il n’avait aucune idée qu’il s’agissait d’une œuvre d’art – comme tous ceux qui l’ont acheté à l’époque et ont regardé la photo de Cosey nue. Je choisis ce magazine (ou cette œuvre de Cosey Fanni Tutti) car il répond assez élégamment à certaines des oppositions dialectiques (in/visibilité, in/certain, disparition/apparition, etc) qui sous-tendent cette exposition en général et les œuvres choisies par les autres commissaires. Cosey, comme son œuvre, comme les autres commissaires, est et n’est pas là. »



8 - Haris Epaminonda
Untitled #32, 2008/09
Polaroid
10.3 x 10.2 cm
Courtesy of the artist and Rodeo gallery, Istanbul


« Tiré d’un magazine, le fragment dans ce polaroid suggère une scène assez dense, ambiguë (émotionnelle, histrionique). L’histoire est moins révélée que cachée, qui crée sa part d’ombre. Ainsi, le contenu apparent de la photographie reste suspendu, irrésolu, alors que le contenu réel (l’effacement temporel du présent et du passé) reste difficile à situer, et voile l’œuvre d’une sorte d’invisibilité symbolique. »


9 – XXXXXXXX
« J’ai désiré choisir une œuvre assez petite, une œuvre qui attire l’attention des passants éventuels sur une idée précise qui en même temps évoque une image et la possibilité d’une ville dans sa globalité. »

NB : Ni l’artiste ni son agent n’ont désiré participer à l’exposition.

 

 
10 - Charlotte Moth
Travelogue, 1999-2009
20 black and white images
Courtesy of the artist


« Les posters de Charlotte Moth se réfèrent à sa collection d’images, Travelogue. C’est une réaction subtile à la nature de l’espace d’exposition. A travers l’exposition d’images qui représentent des architectures abandonnées ou vétustes, les images fonctionnent comme des mises en abîme qui questionnent notre relation au White Cube. »

 



11- Nina Beier and Marie Lund
New Novels, New Men, 2009
Books and performances
Courtesy of the artists and Croy Nielsen, Berlin

Le même roman, dans des traductions différentes, est lu dans l’espace d’exposition par des hommes parlant la langue de la traduction.

« Cette œuvre correspond réellement à l’idée d’absence/présence qui est au cœur de l’exposition, tant dans sa structure que dans les différentes réponses des commissaires. L’œuvre, selon moi, a cette capacité de jouer avec le concept ouvert mais aussi très fermé de l’exposition. C’est aussi une œuvre qui joue avec la langue et ses différents modes opératoires. De même que toute déclinaison et interprétation de règles (du jeu curatorial dans l’exposition, de la traduction et des langues dans l’œuvre de Nina et Marie) est à la fois scientifique et subjective. »



12 - Aurélien Mole
Phorésie, 2009
Sculpture and plinth
Courtesy of the artist


« Une œuvre qui contamine, qui est un fétiche, qui protège, anonyme mais signée, manipulée, elle est une croyance objectivée, elle est collective, virtuelle : Phorésie est une maladie, une bactérie qui se propage admirablement bien. La statuette est originale : c’est un fétiche nkissi de l'ethnie Bakongo du Mali. Elle sert au sorcier (nganga) pour protéger les personnes qui viennent le voir et les délivrer d’un mauvais sort, elle protège aussi le sorcier en retour. Pour chaque personne qui vient lui demander protection, le nganga lèche un clou ou une pointe et la fiche dans le fétiche. Cette lame symbolise le contrat passé avec l'esprit protecteur que représente la statuette. Chaque lame symbolise une personne, et un sort. Ici les lames se répandent. L’œuvre est aussi une manipulation, comme cette exposition. »

 
Sarah Tritz
_] 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11
Installation, 2009

L’installation de Sarah Tritz a été créée spécialement pour cette exposition: c’est l’espace du stockage, ou l’espace du group show. Tritz a travaillé sur les points de fuites, les différents niveaux de lectures et les mouvements dans l’espace (des visiteurs) et entre les oeuvres (des autres artistes), intégrées dans son installation. C’est la possibilité de multiplication des plans, des surfaces et des points de vue qui est à la base de l’installation: tant la possible confrontation de différents points de vue que leur divergences ou les conflits entre les oeuvres et son installation. L’oeuvre a plusieurs niveaux de lecture. Elle se réfère au décor  (décors de théâtre d’Oskar Schlemmer, ou d’opéra de David Hockney: la position du visiteur et son mouvement dans l’installation est cruciale, le visiteur simultanément acteur et spectateur), à l’architecture, aux installations. L’oeuvre s’inscit aussi dans une lignée de pratiques sculpturales, comme un lien entre Kurt Schwitters, Manfred Pernice ou Rachel Harrisson.