VIDEODYSSEY
with Parker’s Box, Brooklyn - New York
18 March - 22 April 2006

For this new exhibition in Gallery Anne Barrault, Alun Williams, the director of Parker’s Box in New York, presents seven artists’videos. (Another version of VIDEODYSSEY is on at the moment in his New York gallery).

In
Steven Brower’s “Conrad Carpenter’s Ladder”, an astronaut climbs an endless ladder. With this metaphor, Brower refers to the pioneering American achievement of the Apollo mission, with a feeling of disappointment and wastefulness. The video was made from start to finish in the artist’s studio in Brooklyn (the combination, performance, as well as all the other sides of the film).

Mike Rogers is a multi-media artist, working by turns in video, photography, sculpture and drawing. Living an ordinary family life, in a Los Angeles suburb, he is concerned by the attitudes and behaviors of American middle classes. In his video “Cross Country”, made in 2002, he filmed his driving through the United States from Brooklyn to Los Angeles with a super 8 camera, taking a picture about every 160m, he then transferred the film to a DVD. It amounts to a speed of 9,600 km/h, except that the landscape changes much more slowly.

Simon Faithfull’s “Escape Vehicle n° 6” is about the journey of a chair as it travels from the ground to the edge of space (30 km up). Dangling in space beneath an unseen weather balloon, the chair rushes away from the fields and roads, ascend through clouds, and finally begin to disintegrate because of the height. The journey of the chair was recorded thanks to a small video camera which relayed the images live to an audience below. The chilling nature of the film is that the empty chair invites the audience to imagine the journey of the chair to an uninhabitable, empty, black realm where it is impossible to breathe.


Since 1990,
Patrick Martinez has been exploring different forms of expression such as video art, sound art, drawing, installation and design. Through a wide range of media, he establishes experimental structures so as to examine the relationship between an object and its context of presentation in order to challenge perception. For his film “The Jesuses”, Martinez has selected a wide array of classical paintings of Christ on the cross, and using the fact of their close resemblance, he has made each one into a single frame of an animated film.


Agnieszka Kalinowska presents “Well, that is what everybody thinks about militaries...” a disturbing film staging young, clean-shaven marines speaking a foreign language impossible to recognize at first, moreover without subtitles in the first part. At the beginning, the film looks like a fiction probably meant to be educational. However, in the second part, this time with subtitles, the spectator begins to understand the framework of the film : the as genuine as upsetting hopes and fears of a young woman worried about her future opening with an endless journey.

Jason Glasser is as famous as a rock musician in his band Fruitkey as he is as a visual artist.”Lion et Oiseau” is an animated film made from computer manipulated cut pieces of paper and black and white super 8 films. The music was composed by the French musician Jean Charles Versari, the guitarist of Fruitkey. It is the third film of a series beginning with “Sepia Collision” shown in Parker’s Box in 2003, followed by “Centaurs Study” shown in “le Triangle” in Marseilles in 2004. The three of them accompany the heartbreaking journeys and violent chases of some fantastic beings : a smiling red balloon head, a melancholy centaur, a two-legged lion after a pigeon.

In 2005
Philippe Bazin made “Ski Centre”, the static shot of a mountain landscape. In northern Europe, a ski resort, the kind of center you rarely find in this not very mountainous region. We are in May, the resort is closed, and the weather is unsettled. The ski tow seats dangle in the violent wind sweeping across the green hills. The sun shines for a few minutes, but a raging, black cloud soars from the valley, very soon the rain pours down, snowflakes take over less than a quarter of hour later. There is a snowstorm, then everything calms down, the blast subsides little by little, the hill rises white and striated. In an hour, time for the snow to melt, everything will be as before.


..........................................................

Philippe Bazin lives and works in Paris. Recent exhibitions : Gallery Anne Barrault - Hayward Gallery, London - Elysée Museum, Lausanne - FRAC Basse-Normandie, Caen - Fine Arts Museum, Dunkirk - le Triangle, Rennes - Art academy Gallery, Sarajevo.

Steven Brower lives and works in Brooklyn. Recent exhibitions : Gallery du Jour, Agnès B, Paris – Parker’s Box, Brooklyn – Galleria Fraco Noero, Turin – Forde contemporary Art Gallery, Geneva – Smart Project Space, Amsterdam – PS1 Contemporary Art Center, Queens, New York.

Simon Faithfull lives and works in Berlin. Recent exhibitions : Parker’s Box, Brooklyn – Stills Gallery, Edinburgh – Cell, London – Gimpel Fils Gallery, London – Gallery du jour, Agnès B, Paris – MAMA, Rotterdam – ICA, London – Aspex Gallery, Portsmouth, Turner Centre, Margate.

Jason Glasser lives and works in Paris and New York . Recent exhibitions : Gallery Kamel Mennour, Paris – Parker’s Box , Brooklyn – Art center Chapelle Saint-Jacques, Saint-Gaudens – Zoo Gallery, Nantes – Galerie Friche Belle de Mai, Marseilles – Rhodes Mann, London.

Agnieszka Kalinowska lives and works in Warsaw. Recent exhibitions : Sector Reforma Gallery, Guadalajara, Mexico – National Center of Contemporary Art, Moscow - Art National Gallery, Warsaw Arizona State University Art museum, Tempe, Arizona – The Sculpture Center, New York.

Patrick Martinez lives and works in New York. Recent exhibitions : The Showroom, London – Gallery Friche Belle de Mai, Marseilles – Parker’s Box, Brooklyn – Futura, Prague – Le Pavé dans la mare, Besançon – Center for Photography, Woodstock, New York – Art in General, New York.

Mike Rogers lives and works in Los Angeles. Recent exhibitions : Angela Hanley Gallery, Los Angeles – Rachmaninoff’s, London – Gallery Michael Cosar, Dusseldorf – Parker’s Box, Brooklyn – Gallery du Jour, Agnès B , Paris - Hotel, London – List Visual Arts Center, MIT, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Simon Faithfull, Escape Vehicle no.6
Patrick Martinez, The Jesuses
Agnieszka Kalinowska, Well that is what everybody thinks about us militaries...
Jason Glasser, Lion & Oiseau
Philippe Bazin, Ski Centre
Mike Rogers, Cross Country

VIDEODYSSEY
de
Parker’s Box, Brooklyn - New York
18 mars - 22 avril 2006

Pour cette nouvelle exposition à la galerie anne barrault, Alun Williams, directeur de Parker's Box, New York, présente les oeuvres vidéo de sept artistes.
(Une autre version de VIDEODYSSEY est actuellement présentée dans sa galerie à New York.)

Dans "Conrad Carpenter's Ladder" de
Steven Brower, un astronaute monte à une échelle sans fin. Par cette métaphore, Brower se réfère à l'exploit pionnier américain de la mission Apollo, distillant un parfum de déception et de gaspillage. La vidéo a été réalisée de toutes pièces (la combinaison, mise en scène, ainsi que tous les aspects du film), dans l'atelier de l'artiste, à Brooklyn.

Mike Rogers est un artiste multi-média, tour à tour vidéaste, photographe, sculpteur et dessinateur. Vivant une vie de famille ordinaire dans une banlieue de Los Angeles, il s'intéresse aux attitudes et aux comportements des classes moyennes américaines. Dans sa vidéo "Cross Country", réalisée en 2002, il filme sa traversée des Etats-Unis, de Brooklyn à Los Angeles, en voiture. Le film a été tourné en super 8, une image tous les 160m environ, puis transféré sur dvd, ce qui correspond à une traversée à la vitesse de 9,600 km/h, sauf que le paysage se transforme beaucoup plus lentement.

"Escape Vehicle n° 6" de
Simon Faithfull rapporte le voyage d'une chaise qui se déplace du sol jusqu'aux limites de l'atmosphère (30km d'altitude). Ballotée dans l'espace sous un ballon-sonde que la caméra ne dévoilera jamais, la chaise s'éloigne à toute vitesse des champs et des routes, traversant les nuages, et finalement commençe à se désintégrer à cause de l’altitude. Le voyage de la chaise a été enregistré à l'aide d'une petite caméra vidéo qui retransmet les images en direct à un public en dessous. Le caractère glaçant du film tient au fait que la chaise vide invite les spectateurs à imaginer le voyage entrepris par la chaise dans un espace irrespirable, vide et noir.

Depuis 1990,
Patrick Martinez explore différentes formes d'expression comme la vidéo, l'art sonore, le dessin, l'installation ou le design. Grâce à un large éventail de média, il met en place des structures expérimentales permettant de réfléchir sur la relation qui existe entre un objet et son contexte de présentation afin de questionner la perception de l’objet. Pour son film, "The Jesuses", Martinez a sélectionné un large ensemble de peintures classiques du Christ en croix. Se servant de leur ressemblance, il a créé un photogramme de chacune d'elles afin de pouvoir les animer.

Agnieszka Kalinowska présente "Well, that is what everybody thinks about militaries....", un film dérangeant mettant en scène de jeunes militaires dans la marine, rasés de près et s’exprimant dans une langue étrangère, qu’on ne saurait identifier de prime abord, et qui, par ailleurs, n’est pas sous-titrée dans la première partie. Au début, le film semble être une fiction vraisemblablement conçue dans un but éducatif. Cependant, dans sa deuxième partie accompagnée, cette fois, de sous-titres, le spectateur commence à comprendre la trame du film : les espoirs et les peurs, aussi authentiques qu'inconfortables, d’une jeune femme, inquiète de son destin qui s'ouvre sur un voyage sans fin..

Jason Glasser
réussit autant dans la musique rock, au sein de son groupe Fruitkey, que dans les arts visuels. "Lion et Oiseau" est un film d'animation conçu à partir de papiers découpés et de pellicule super 8 noir et blanc, manipulés via un ordinateur. La musique a été composée par le musicien français Jean Charles Versari, guitariste de Fruitkey. Il s'agit du troisième film d'une série commencée avec "Sepia Collision" présenté chez Parker's Box en 2003, suivi de "Centaurs Study" présenté au Triangle à Marseille en 2004. Tous trois suivent les voyages poignants et les poursuites violentes de quelques êtres fantastiques : une tête-ballon rouge souriante, un centaure mélancolique et un lion à deux pattes chassant un pigeon.

Philippe Bazin, a réalisé en 2005 "Ski Centre", plan fixe sur un paysage de montagne : au nord de l'Europe, une station de ski, un centre comme il en existe très peu dans cette région assez peu montagneuse. On est en mai, la station est fermée, et le temps est instable. Les sièges des remonte-pentes oscillent au vent violent qui balaye les collines verdoyantes. Le soleil luit quelques minutes, mais de la vallée remonte un air furieux et noir, la pluie tombe très vite à seaux, les premiers flocons blancs la remplacent en moins d'un quart d'heure. C'est la tempête de neige, puis tout s'apaise, le souffle retombe progressivement et la colline émerge blanche et striée. Dans une heure, le temps de la fonte, tout va recommencer.

..........................................................

Philippe Bazin vit et travaille à Paris. Expositions récentes: Galerie Anne Barrault; Hayward Gallery, Londres; Musée de l'Elysée, Lausanne; FRAC Basse-Normandie, Caen; Musée des Beaux-Arts de Dunkerque; le Triangle, Rennes; Galerie de l'Académie des Arts, Sarajevo.

Steven Brower vit et travaille à Brooklyn. Expositions récentes: galerie du jour, Agnès B, Paris; Parker's Box, Brooklyn; Galleria Fraco Noero, Turin; Forde Espace d'Art Contemporain, Genève; SMART Project Space, Amsterdam; PS1 Contemporary Art Center, Queens, New York.

Simon Faithfull vit et travaille à Berlin. Expositions récentes: Parker's Box, Brooklyn; Stills Gallery, Edinburgh; Cell, Londres; Gimpel Fils Gallery, Londres; galerie du jour, Agnès B, Paris; MAMA, Rotterdam; ICA, Londres; Aspex Gallery, Portsmouth; Turner Centre, Margate.

Jason Glasser vit et travaille à Paris et New York. Expositions récentes: Galerie Kamel Mennour, Paris; Parker's Box, Brooklyn; Centre d'Art Chapelle Saint-Jacques, Saint-Gaudens; Zoo Galerie, Nantes; Galerie Friche Belle de Mai, Marseille; Rhodes + Mann, Londres.

Agnieszka Kalinowska vit et travaille à Varsovie. Expositions récentes: Sector Reforma Gallery, Guadalajara, Mexico; Centre National d'Art Contemporain, Moscou; Galerie Nationale d'Art, Varsovie; Arizona State University Art Museum, Tempe, Arizona; The Sculpture Center, New York.

Patrick Martinez vit et travaille à New York. Expositions récentes: The Showroom, Londres; Galerie Friche Belle de Mai, Marseille; Parker's Box, Brooklyn; Futura, Prague; Le Pavé dans la Mare, Besançon; Center for Photography, Woodstock, New York; Art in General, New York.

Mike Rogers
vit et travaille à Los Angeles. Expositions récentes: Angela Hanley Gallery, Los Angeles; Rachmaninoff's, Londres; Galerie Michael Cosar, Düsseldorf; Parker's Box, Brooklyn; Galerie du Jour, Agnès B, Paris; Hotel, Londres; List Visual Arts Center, MIT, Cambridge, Massachussetts.

Simon Faithfull, Escape Vehicle no.6
Patrick Martinez, The Jesuses
Agnieszka Kalinowska, Well that is what everybody thinks about us militaries...
Jason Glasser, Lion & Oiseau
Philippe Bazin, Ski Centre
Mike Rogers, Cross Country