Beyrouth
Bord de mer
Istanbul
Moscou
San Francisco
Shangai
Biography
Exhibition 2001 Interrupted City
Exhibition 2006 Beirut 1991
Exhibition 2012 from Rio to Shangai
Exhibition 2017 Basilico before Basilico
  
From Rio to Shanghai

12 January - 10 March 2012

For his third personal exhibition in gallery Anne Barrault, Gabriele Basilico presents photographs taken in Rio and Shanghai between 2010 and 2011.

Gabriele Basilico ( born in Milano in 1944) is, at the present time, one of the best known documentary photographers in Europe. A retrospective of his work has been shown in the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, in la Maison Européenne de la photographie in Paris, in the MOMA of San Francisco (for the latest exhibitions).

G
oing on with his radioscopy of the architecture and development of big cities, Gabriele Basilico examines the changes of these sites of living and civilization where now most people have their homes.
What becomes of the identity of the city through tne ceaseless alterations which affect it?
How do the old structures and the new additions hang together coherently?

Gabriele Basilico’s photographs, today coloured ones, show that the outward changes cannot hide the preserved stability of the city, that they use the very continuity of its self. As if these multiple transformations were only the symptoms of the growth of a living body. Old, ramshackle buildings are next to new ones in Rio, and futurist ones in Shanghai. Different periods overlap and reveal a city with various forms, colours, materials.

Man appears, which is unusual in Basilico’s photographs, looking at the objective, the symbol of the continuous increase in population . A few days ago, the headlines of the newspapers were “ the world passes the seven billion inhabitants mark”.

Beyrouth
Bord de mer
Istanbul
Moscou
San Francisco
Shangai
Biographie
Exposition 2001 Interrupted City
Exposition 2006 Beirut 1991
Exposition 2012 de Rio à Shangai
Exposition 2017 Basilico avant Basilico
  
de Rio à Shangai

14 janvier - 10 mars 2012

Gabriele Basilico présente à l’occasion de sa troisième exposition personnelle à la galerie anne barrault des photographies réalisées à Rio et Shanghai entre 2010 et 2011.

Gabriele Basilico (né à Milan en 1944) est l'un des photographes “documentaristes” les plus connus en Europe. Une rétrospective de son travail a été présentée au Stedelijk Museum à Amsterdam, à la Maison Européenne de la Photographie à Paris, et au MOMA de San Francisco, (pour les expositions les plus récentes).

En poursuivant sa radioscopie de l’architecture et du développement des grandes agglomérations, Gabriele Basilico observe l’évolution de ces lieux de vie et de civilisation où cohabite désormais la majorité des humains.

Que devient l’identité de la ville à travers les modifications incessantes qui l’affectent ?

Selon quelle cohérence s’articulent les structures anciennes et les apports nouveaux ?

Les photographies, désormais en couleurs, de Gabriele Basilico, laissent percevoir que les changements apparents ne peuvent dissimuler le maintien d’une stabilité de la ville et qu’ils s’appuient sur la continuité même de sa personnalité. Comme si ces multiples transformations n’étaient que la manifestation de la croissance d’un corps vivant. Architectures délabrées, anciennes côtoient le renouveau pour Rio et le futurisme pour Shanghai. Différentes époques se chevauchent pour donner une ville aux diverses formes, couleurs et matériaux.

L'humain fait son apparition, ce qui est inhabituel dans les photographies de Basilico. Aujourd’hui il regarde l’objectif, symbole d’une population qui ne cesse de croître. Les journaux titraient il y a quelques jours « La planète passe le cap des 7 milliards d’habitants ».