Marie Losier

Eat my Makeup!

11 January- 22 February 2020


Anne Barrault Gallery is very pleased to present the first exhibition of Marie Losier in her space. The exhibition will premiere an entirely new set of works with films, installations and drawings.

 

Marie Losier’s artistic universe is built around friends, family and idols she summons in a crazy maelstrom. Mainly known for her work behind the camera (a Bolex 16mm wound every 30 seconds), the artist, for some years now, has exhibited monotypes and installations connected with her films.  

Her imagery is inspired by the figures of the New York underground and experimental cinema of the Kuchar brothers to Paul Scharits, as well as by her accomplice Tony Conrad, and her new French friends Yann Gonzalez, Bertrand Mandico. She formed a part of this brotherhood during her years in New York. Others, like Felix Kubin, will come, thanks to her travels and her projects when back in Europe. They all are good times or bad times companions, faithful friends and the partners of a constantly changing and reconsidered art, which evokes Méliès as well as the clips on MTV and the beat poetry, the camp universe, Fluxus or video art and low fi. 

Eyes are seen from the street; you are theatrically invited to pass through the colorful curtain in order to discover the effervescence sweeping through the the gallery.  On one of the walls, the powerful and moving black and white drawing of a headless woman with animal feet, a hybrid character: inside her, she carries cameras, she brings to life a film, which will be animated through an eagle’s legged projector.
The film is in color and an animation of faces and color strobe light.  It is a portrait, a melting pot of faces, which unreel successively to form just one. Farther, a few seconds long loops of images are shown in decorated boxes. These videos, reruns of the artist’s films, drawn from her rushes, give a new life to the protagonists in an overflowing and baroque showcase, like magic lanterns, which remind you of the beginnings of the cinema.

Her friends are the models of the large black oil portraits the artist has always made on rice paper. From this sometimes cranky everyday life some gravity rises. Whereas delicacy and precision relate to the direct and precise way Marie films, close but not intrusive, the fragility of the act is found in the eyes, a more solemn counter-point to the whole work. These monotypes texture remind of film celluloid, and has the same magic of motion.

For her first exhibition at the gallery, the artist invites new stories, goes a little further in the drawings and the line, and entwines bestiary, fun fair, the birth of cinema and vanilla cream cake.

Marie Losier mingles, like North American artists know so well how to, her personal life with her work, into a euphoric and generous self-fiction. Her works depict a big and happy house, from which the parents would be away, leaving excited, full of imagination children, who burst out laughing while playing grown-ups. They build huts and flying saucers, dress up and paint their faces, cook, eat, laugh, sing and jump everywhere. They wear flowery bathing caps, octopuses and birds by way of headgear, they throw golden flakes, and, above all, they never forget to dance.

Emilie Flory
October 2019

 

With support for galleries / first exhibition of the Centre national des arts plastiques    

 

 

 

Losier

Eat My Make-up!
film 6’, 2005

 

 

 

 

Losier

Simon, 2019
oil paint on rice paper – monotype
66 x 76 cm

 

 

 

 

 

Losier

Félix et sa cigogne, 2018
light box
67,5 x 51,5 x 15 cm

Marie Losier

Eat my Makeup!

11 janvier- 22 février 2020


La galerie anne barrault est heureuse de présenter la première exposition personnelle de Marie Losier dans son espace. L’artiste présentera un ensemble d’œuvres inédit réunissant films, installations, et dessins.

Marie Losier construit son univers artistique en conviant amis, famille et idoles dans un maelström déjanté. Connue principalement pour sa carrière derrière la caméra (une Bolex 16mm qui se remonte toutes les 30 secondes), l’artiste expose depuis quelques années monotypes et installations, en regard de ses films.
Son imagerie est inspirée par les figures new-yorkaises du cinéma underground et expérimental, des frères Kuchar à Paul Scharits en passant par le complice Tony Conrad, et sa nouvelle famille française de cinéma de Yann Gonzalez à Bertrand Mandico.
Les années new-yorkaises de l’artiste ont participé à constituer une partie de cette fratrie, d’autres viendront, comme Felix Kubin, à travers les voyages et les projets à son retour en Europe.
Tous sont les compagnons de fortune et d’infortune, amis fidèles et partenaires d’un art sans cesse en mouvance et en réflexion, qui évoque aussi bien Méliès que des clips de MTV, la poésie beat que l’univers camp, Fluxus que de l’art vidéo et la « low fi ».

Un regard exophtalmique (avec coquetterie) apparaît depuis la rue ; une invitation théâtrale à passer à travers le rideau coloré pour découvrir l’effervescence qui déferle à l’intérieur de la galerie. Sur un des murs se déploie le dessin puissant et tout en mouvements d’une femme sans tête aux pieds de bête. Elle porte en elle des caméras, donne vie à une pellicule qui s’animera à travers un projecteur aux pattes d’aigle. Le film est un portrait, un melting-pot de visages qui défilent les uns après les autres pour n’en former qu’un, après avoir été capturés par Marie Losier. Plus loin des boîtes décorées accueillent des boucles d’images de quelques secondes. Reprises des films de l’artiste, puisées dans ses rushes, ces vidéos offrent une vie nouvelle aux personnages dans un écrin débordant et baroque, sorte de lanternes magiques qui rappellent les débuts du cinématographe.
Les amis et intimes sont les modèles des grands portraits que l’artiste réalise depuis toujours à l’huile noire sur des feuilles de papier de riz. Du quotidien parfois excentrique ressort ici une certaine gravité. Alors que la délicatesse et la précision renvoient à la façon que Marie Losier a de filmer, directe et précise, proche mais pas intrusive, la fragilité du geste se retrouve aussi dans les regards donnant un contre-point plus solennel à l’ensemble du travail.

Pour sa première exposition à la galerie, l’artiste convoque de nouvelles histoires, pousse un peu plus loin les dessins et le trait, entrelace bestiaire, fête foraine, naissance du cinéma et gâteau à la crème vanille. Marie Losier mêle, comme savent si bien le faire les créateurs nord-américains, sa vie privée à son travail, en une autofiction euphorique et généreuse.
Ses oeuvres dépeignent une grande maison joyeuse de laquelle les parents seraient partis pour ne laisser que des enfants surexcités, débordant d’imagination, qui éclatent de rire en jouant aux adultes. Ils construisent des cabanes et des soucoupes volantes, se déguisent et se griment, cuisinent, mangent, rient, chantent et sautent partout. Ils portent des bonnets de bain à fleurs, des poulpes et des oiseaux en guise de couvre-chef, ils lancent des paillettes dorées et surtout, surtout, ils n’oublient jamais de danser.

Émilie Flory
octobre 2019

 

 

Avec le soutien aux galeries / première exposition du Centre national des arts plastiques   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Losier

Eat My Make-up!
film 6’, 2005

 

 

Losier

Simon, 2019
peinture à l’huile sur papier de riz,
66 x 76 cm

 

 

 

Losier

Félix et sa cigogne, 2018
caisson lumineux
67,5 x 51,5 x 15 cm