Neïla Czermak Ichti

28 August - 9 October 2021

Gallery anne barrault is pleased to present the first solo exhibition of Neïla Czermak Ichti who has just graduated from the École supérieure d’art & de design in Marseille.
Through drawings and paintings, she depicts her family and her friends. The representation of apparently ordinary and trivial scenes refers to her beliefs, her cultures, and takes on magical and invisible dimensions which are influenced by popular culture.

On this occasion, we are delighted to present to you the first publication dedicated to the artist which will be published by Éditions P.

Neïla Czermak Ichti
Les anges de Porte Dorée, 2021
acrylic on coton sheet
170 x 170  cm

Certain images represent already existing forms, perhaps recognizable as figures, mouths, faces, bodies. We recognize them as fixed identities, given as such, we recognize them as belonging to strata of a population that finds itself already represented everywhere : in magazines, on television, in museums… as if it all goes without saying.

Other paintings represent oracles.

If Neïla Czermak wouldn’t exist through her dreams, her fantasies, her crossing the gates of time, we would still be here to identify the same bodies, as a given fact. Whereas often the truth lies elsewhere.

Her way of painting everyday scenes, whilst “twisting » them, is such a real way of talking about stories that are often forgotten and taken for granted, once again. Neïla Czermak proves that nothing can be taken for granted, that it is necessary to draw attention to the little monster sleeping under our beds or the sentence pronounced (was she telling the truth?) by a grandmother on the other side of the Mediterranean.

For through the appearance of a clown, monstrous horns, a robotic hand, or even a Dragon Ball Z figurine, the painter invites us to redefine our certainties about the invisible world, to politicize our words and to be interested in deceiving our certainties – in a way that is both visionary and pays homage to our mothers, but also to our brothers, often dehumanized, and our sisters, often misunderstood.

Neila Czermak’s paintings replace hope in a right way by speaking about us, while at the same time placing weirdness as a radical position and way of being in the world. Perhaps this is the moment not to go back to normal, but rather to trust signs, chance and everything that is impossible to explain.

The other paintings represent oracles.

And finally, the other paintings do more than just represent, they announce an ending, perhaps of the one of identity, to open up to other urban possibilities, while celebrating them.

Tarek Lakhrissi, 2020


With support for galleries / first exhibition of the Centre national des arts plastiques    

Neïla Czermak Ichti
Firas, 2020
airbrush acrylic on wood
50 x 70 cm

Neïla Czermak Ichti

28 août - 9 octobre 2021

La galerie anne barrault est heureuse de présenter la premiere exposition personnelle de Neïla Czermak Ichti. A cette occasion son premier livre sortira aux éditons P.


Certaines peintures représentent des formes existantes, peut-être reconnaissables comme des figures, des bouches, des visages, des corps. On en reconnait des identités fixes, données comme telles, que l’on reconnait souvent comme appartenant à des strates de la populations qui se retrouve à nouveau représentée partout : dans des magazines, à la télévisions, dans les musées… Comme si tout aller de soi.

D’autres peintures représentent des oracles.

Si Neila Czermak n’existait pas à travers ses rêves, ses fantaisies, ses traversées de portes du temps, on serait encore là à identifier ces mêmes corps, comme étant données. Alors que souvent la vérité se trouve ailleurs. Sa manière de peindre des scènes quotidiennes, tout en les « twistant » est une manière aussi réelle de parler d’histoires souvent oubliées et considérées comme allant de soi, une nouvelle fois. Neila Czermak prouve que rien ne va de soi, qu’il faut attirer l’attention sur ce petit monstre qui dort sous nos lit ou la phrase prononcée (disait-elle la vérité?) par une grand-mère de l’autre côté de la Méditerranée.

Car à travers l’apparition d’un clown, de cornes monstrueuses, une main robotique, ou encore d’une figurine de Dragon Ball Z, la peintre nous invite à redéfinir nos certitudes sur le monde invisible, à politiser aussi nos mots et à s’intéresser à tromper nos certitudes – de façon à la fois visionnaire et rendant hommage à nos mères, mais aussi nos frères, souvent déshumanisés, et nos soeurs, souvent incomprises.

Les peintures de Neila Czermak replacent un espoir dans une manière juste de parler de nous, tout en plaçant la bizarrerie comme une position radicale et une manière d’être au monde. Peut-Etre est-ce le moment de ne pas revenir à du normal, plus plutôt de faire confiance aux signes, au hasard et à tout ce qui est impossible à expliquer.

D’autres peintures représentent des oracles.

Et enfin, d’autres peintures font plus que représenter, elles annoncent une fin, peut-être celles de l’identité, pour ouvrir à d’autres possibles urbains, tout en les célébrant.

Tarek Lakhrissi, 2020